Verónica (2017) Poster

(I) (2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
157 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Ok but not worth the hype
barneskn3 March 2018
I really wanted to be scared by this movie. But I wasn't. It's simply a stock standard possession movie that's been done a million times before. I wouldn't say its a bad film, but it's certainly NOT the great horror film it's been hyped up to be.

I couldn't help but see this film, not as a scary supernatural film ... but as a sad and tragic story of a teenage girl who reaches puberty and begins a slide into a psychosis that has devastating consequences for her and her family.
63 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decent but not special
kosmasp16 February 2018
So REC was really something special, but it was a collaboration between two directors. And I do have mad respect for the other one who had "Nameless" and "Darkness" already under his belt. So Paco here goes full horror with this and the end result is quite decent. It's not really anything new you get or that interesting (possession, demons and so forth).

But it does work overall. So while it may not change your world view or shake your film world, it is something to watch, if you are into horror movies. There are quite some neat jump scares and the story has the right mood overall. The acting is also decent enough, it builds as expected and there is nothing much that is wrong with it. Except for its predictability I guess. So by the numbers, but better than off the rails
31 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A little bit oldschool but enjoyable!
piterpan24 March 2018
Watch it with friends! It's not bad and not so original but it achieves the purpose of watching a horror movie with friends! The leading girl is stunning and delivers her role!
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Scariest film ever? No way!
almanac-391783 March 2018
I only watched this because I saw a news article saying this was "the scariest film ever". It's not. It's just the same old tired bags of tricks. A Ouija board. An unconvincing shadowy ghost. Dream sequences that are so obviously dreams it's laughable. A girl's body being contorted into strange positions. Over-the-top music. Loud sound effects signposting jump scares. It's all been done a thousand times before.

When it comes to scary movies, the 1970s still reign supreme. The Exorcist. The Omen. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Alien. At least the directors of these movies knew how to create oppressive, foreboding atmospheres that chill the spine. Verónica? It barely generates a frisson of fear.
62 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I Think Some Reviews Are A Little Harsh
spotatoes3 March 2018
I really don't know why some people have said that this movie is boring. It's not. Sure, it's not the most original horror I've ever seen - it owes a lot to many, many others horrors and thrillers - but, thanks to strong performances and good, if not altogether original, little directorial and editing techniques, and an effective score, I didn't feel bored with it at all. Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, but, I have to say, I don't see a lot for the film's detractors to focus on. I think 'Verònica' is a fairly good movie.
41 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A nice horror movie
alejandro-salinas17 February 2018
As a big consumer of horror movies it is now difficult for me to find a new one that really scares me. This one does.

Good perfomance for all the actresses.

The tension gets higher every minute of the film
41 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
In Veronica, Paco Plaza has another excellent contemporary horror movie under his belt: a reminder that great movies come from outside of Hollywood, too.
edwardjones-231921 December 2017
Paco Plaza took the horror genre by storm with the Rec. series (remade in English as Quarantine) and he's back to do it all over again with Veronica.

The plot is fairly generic for horror, and is based on a true story, which means nothing to anyone except the marketing team. But Veronica's success lies not in its originality but in its masterful execution. Foreign movies often miss out on the blockbuster budgets that their American counterparts are privileged with. But the producers have spared no expense with Veronica.

It's rare that movies are named after their protagonists. It would be easy to draw comparisons with Stephen King's Carrie, but there is a clear reason. Veronica is not a lens through which the story is viewed. She is the movie: her past, her fears, and her insecurities. The narrative delves deep into her character, not separately from the horror but within it. Another easy comparison to draw is with The Babadook. Veronica is not as focused, but it explores death in a more introspective way than most. Combined with more focalised cinematography, the central characterisation is second-to- none.

Characterisation aside, Veronica is still a horror movie, and it rarely strays from its genre conventions, which is fine. Originality isn't always good. There are excellent movies such as this, which excellently execute the tried and tested genre conventions. It's a clear trend, though so many ignore it, that deep, resonant narrative make more successful movies. This year's IT (see our review here) is a perfect example of this, breaking box office records.

Veronica nails the narrative expectations of modern horror.

At its core, Veronica is a story about a teenage girl who has lost her father. And with her mother working overtime, she struggles with the weight of the family on her own shoulders. The manifestations of horror within the movie emanate from this same source, which is what IT does. And which works incredibly well. Characterisation and terror inform each other. We relate to Veronica all the more for the horror she experiences. And conversely, the horror becomes more terrifying itself because we care about Veronica and understand her.

Veronica is the most cinematic horror movie to come from outside Hollywood.

The horror is in your face. Vivid and loud. Not only is the sound design incredible, but the music boasts an original mix of conventional eerie scoring and synthesised 80s soundtracks. The acting and writing are flawless. It's a thrilling, euphoric, and cathartic ride. The only thing I didn't care for was the whole 'true story' element. In particular, the movie already had a great ending, which was succeeded by another scene, which served only to emphasise the 'true story' aspect of the movie.

Review from Student Pages: http://www.studentpages.biz/veronica-review/
48 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The intensity never stops
michael-diniz121 March 2018
I was skeptical of another possession movie, especially one that claims to be the scariest ever.. this didn't disappoint. I wouldn't call it scary as much as intense. From the beginning to the end, there was never a dull moment. 7/10 because possession horror isn't my favorite genre but I still appreciated this
20 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Refreshing Horror Movie, but not as Scary as People Make it Out to Be
jacobsenstad8 March 2018
I saw this movie was trending on social media and it's conveniently on Netflix. I thought, what the heck, I can spend a couple hours watching a horror movie. I along with many other horror fans know the pain of unoriginal horrors with jump scares and flashy CGI, that's basically half of Netflix's horror movie lineup.

Not only was I taken aback by the Sandra's performance as Veronica, but I enjoyed the whole cast. This was treading the line between low budget cult horror and big blockbuster movie. Some of the scenes were chilling and had a lasting effect during the movie and afterwards while I'm writing this review.

Without spoiling anything, they were very creative with the story, and some elements that supposedly happened back in 1991 are terrifying. The photographic evidence from the actual police report makes you realize this might be a realistic recreation.

If you're a horror fan, this is a great movie to watch. It's a fresh breath from the "cookie cutter" paranormal movies, while at the same time has some elements that can spook you. I don't get scared by too many movies, and while this one didn't scare me, it kept me entertained.
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not scariest movie ever
laurie-866676 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I was so excited to watch this because of the dumb --obviously fake---- news article about how it was the scariest movie ever and Netflix users had to turn it off in the middle. Ugh. Don't fall for the hype. This is a very AVERAGE scary movie. I give it 7 stars because 1) it has a story that kinda makes sense 2) Catholic schools with blind nuns and basements are creepy 3) the little boy in the movie is fricking adorable 4) I love foreign movies 5) Ouja boards are scary. DO NOT mess with them 6) full Monty ghost was creepy 7) special effects were pretty convincing.

Somehow, I fell asleep at the very end of the movie. So, I have no idea how it ended. It wasn't that scary.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Its better then Hollywood possessed trash
edgy-827-48696517 October 2017
Yes, its not original and try to be this fancy annabele-astral-thingy, but THIS film have STYLE. And its much than Curse or what name this boring shlok in 70th setting. "Veronica" - did this much better, because... well I think witch-house-ish OST and early 90th - its top notch. Its good time for this, and this film clearly go to the one pantheon with It Follows and others modern GOOD horrors.
48 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A Pretty Standard Demon Film
Phimosa27 February 2018
Veronica is a Spanish demon possession movie that does a lot right but has some major problems. Sandra Escacena does a good job portraying the titular character and the child performances were decent as well. The film is well shot and is mostly entertaining throughout. A couple scenes are genuinely creepy and there are barely any obnoxious jump scares.

One of the main problems with the movie is that it is littered with annoying cliches. While the scenes mentioned previously were creepy most of the movie is just the demon trolling veronica by throwing book bags of shelves and turning on the television. With a run time of 105 minutes it's a little too long as well. The film's twist is also pretty obvious and I feel like a lot of viewers will figure it out early.

If you like demon possession movies this is still worth your time and has a few scares to keep you entertained.
19 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Typical boring movie that tries to be scary and fails.
skyhawk7473 March 2018
I do not understand what the hype is over this film? I found it very boring and it's nowhere near as scary as made out. The presence has no fear factor about it and quite a few horror cliches are in the movie.

Sorry but nothing special here.
25 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Watch the complete Paco Plaza Quadrilogy to compare it to this ... Start with Rec :D
Aktham_Tashtush14 January 2018
I'v been living in Valencia for the past two years and the first thing i knew about this city before coming in here is that Paco Plaza is from this city ... man this guy is just genius,, Starting from Rec. trilogy and ending up with this unusual creepy "original on its way" Ouija board Horror.

The plot as common and boring as it would sound ,, a Ouija board turns into evil supernatural force fight, yet Paco made it look more original especially adding these "true story" stuff at the beginning and the end which usually freaks me out, and then splashing it with mysterious jumpy moments,, i mean for a guy who don't scare easily, i flinched more than a couple of times in here.

The cast was good in general, not interacted with most, but that actress Sandra Escacena "Veronica", man!! for a first time big screen actress she can really act and convince .

The cinematography was fine for a regular horror movie,, yet to be precise and honest in some scenes "when the hand of that evil spirit comes out or shocks someone" it was creepy but not using the best out there,, to makes-up or whatever makes these things,, but it did not effect the superiority of the creepiness of the movie or the authenticity of these jumpy moments.

Final thought,, been watching Spanish movies for a while now,, so when i say this movie is one of the Top 20 best movies in my list, and one of the few top best horror movies so you gotta take it seriously ;)
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Don't believe the hype
renatobilan4 March 2018
This movie is just like any other horror movie you've seen before. Brings absolutely nothing new to the table. Pretty boring. Scary for about 5 to 10 minutes of its runtime. Typical horror movie filled with clichés. I really wouldn't recommend it to anyone, unless this is the first horror you are going to see in your life. In that case it'll be fine. All in all total mediocrity. 4/10
25 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good cast but just as good or bad as any other ouija movie.
maxmitschke18 March 2018
Because of the hype in social media over the last days I decided to give this movie a shot. I wouldn't say that it was a waste of time, I did enjoy the movie in general but there was nothing new or revolutionary about this movie and it is certainly NOT the "scariest movie of all time" - there probably were a lot of marketing geniuses at Netflix involved to create the hype.

A lot of the elements reminded me of the numerous Ouija movies that already exist while other elements were "inspired" by other horror movies like The Conjuring.

Conclusion: The real story behind the movie is certainly more interesting then the movie itself but if you are bored and are a Netflix subscriber give the movie a shot, but don't expect to get scared much if you're watching a lot of horror movies.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Another disappointing Horror
will_hopkins-536578 March 2018
All these people claiming ' scariest film theve seen for a long time ' they must have been paid a few quid to write those reviews.

This film is not SCARY OR FRIGHTENING AT ALL, IT BARELY MADE ME FEEL ON EDGE. An old blind cataract nun (picture featured on advert)Does not create some kind of deep foreboding. The film relies heavily on jump tactics.Its typical of the genre these days, I guess its been like it for years. The entity, A dark figure, with long spindly fingers, whos face you never see, totally characterless COME ON ! SOMEONE MAKE A DECENT HORROR FILM FOR ONCE AND FOR ALL. !!!
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What?
i-288213 March 2018
So much hype but so little action. Music is absolutely terrible and makes this feel outdated. Wrong kind of music for specific scenes. Only reason I give this a 6 is because the acting wasn't bad.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Eh
musicfreak_949 March 2018
I had seen some things claiming that this movie was so scary people couldn't finish it, but I thought it wasn't scary at all. The plot twist at the end was kinda mediocre and overall just seemed to be a run-of-the-mill possession story. Didn't really bring anything new to the table, I'm sad to say.
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good but whats up with "100% Rotten Tomatoes?""
rebeccax52 March 2018
This morning I see a supposed news story saying this Spanish film on Netflix is the "scariest" and best horror film in years, with raving reviews and "100% on Rotten Tomatoes" review site.

It really HURTS enjoyment of the film to go into it with that kind of fake, paid for promotion.

Is the director Paco Plaza some favorite of the Spirit Cooking crowd or something equally as weird?

Yes, it's a pretty good, supernatural, ghost film and the main actress and direction is good. The idea that it is based on a true story is intriguing, but "100% on Rotten Tomatoes???" Give me a break.

Is Netflix and Rotten Tomatoes resorting to fake advertising? It really distracted from the film itself, because it was watchable and creepy but I give it a generous 7 star just for the actress and creepy nun.

Obviously film reviewing it back to PAYOLA and somehow related to politics.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't fall for the hype! Terrible!
clabkeloh6 March 2018
I spent a long weekend at work reading breathless reviews, ie; "I couldn't even finish it!" Bullshit!! Awful, awful, dull movie derivative of of so many better movies years ago...I couldn't finish it because I drifted off to the loc al new and then fell asleep twice. Pure bot-driven hype over garbage.
13 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
not as epic or engrossing then REC 1 or Rec2
surfisfun3 January 2018
Well, it try to be well crafted.

The siblings interaction was well acted.

Maybe the edit and Tempo was too long and on the shoulder of the main teenager actress ?

Not easy to bring a great crafted scary, this one not one of them. maybe needed to be more adult and gruesome .

But
11 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Nothing new... at all ...
simoncharest3 March 2018
Pretty much the same old demon story we see all the time... nothing special at all. Pretty boring and the acting is very bad !
9 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bored me
danielflower-727502 March 2018
Slow made me fall sleep feel like there was story to this film
15 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A one time watch. Known story, they tried their best.
loopinthoughts29 December 2017
It's extremely creepy I'll give you that. The music brings our worst nightmare come alive. It sets the tone and they used it well. The little kids performance were unexpectedly good than that of the lead girl. But i felt somewhat boring at times. Like they deliberately dragging the scene longer, an attempt at setting a creepy vibe which they've already-successfully established, but by doing this they made it a bit messier and boring. Well some parts were scary so you can go ahead and watch it once.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed